Author Topic: Wired up some traffic lights in my garage  (Read 448 times)

justinwebb

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Wired up some traffic lights in my garage
« on: November 21, 2017, 06:27:55 AM »
Decided to build a traffic light controller for the traffic lights I have hanging up.  Runs off an arduino and I wrote a few different programs.  Once I get some ultrasonic sensors it will also be a parking sensor when it detects a car pulling in lol.  Excuse the messy garage, building a server rack as well.




Here is the actual control box, Iíve since changed it a bit and grounded everything and organized the wiring.  Just wanted to test all the code.  It doesnít pull much power with everything using low wattage LEDís as I donít want to blind myself working in the garage with these on.

beer

  • You talk the talk. Do you walk the walk?
  • Global Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • dark liver
    • View Profile
Re: Wired up some traffic lights in my garage
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2017, 08:52:06 AM »
That's pretty bad ass man. Where did you get the lights?

justinwebb

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wired up some traffic lights in my garage
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2017, 07:15:10 PM »
That's pretty bad ass man. Where did you get the lights?
Knew someone that works for the engineers office of franklin county, he was able to always let me know when some were available

beer

  • You talk the talk. Do you walk the walk?
  • Global Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • dark liver
    • View Profile
Re: Wired up some traffic lights in my garage
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2017, 07:12:47 PM »
I've noticed that a lot of the lights have been switched to led. Are you using what came in them or did you switch them to be a little more close quarter friendly? I'm assuming they are on a PCB for ease of use.

justinwebb

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wired up some traffic lights in my garage
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2017, 10:28:47 AM »
I've noticed that a lot of the lights have been switched to led. Are you using what came in them or did you switch them to be a little more close quarter friendly? I'm assuming they are on a PCB for ease of use.
I am using some incandescent bulbs that are 40 watts each, normal traffic light bulbs are 150watts so its a bit less blinding close up haha.  The LED ones you see are just a flat PCB with a few hundred LED's in a circle. They are crazy bright and not dimmable unless i drop down the voltage.  I tend to just use LED household bulbs that are lower wattage so i dont go blind.

ls joker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Wired up some traffic lights in my garage
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2017, 08:40:02 PM »
Thats looks good